2022 10th International Conference on Nano and Materials Science ICNMS 2022
January 22-24, 2022 | Singapore

Keynote Speakers


 Prof. Ramesh K. Agarwal (Fellow of IEEE, AAAS, AIAA, APS, ASME, CSAA, SME and ASEE)

William Palm Professor of Engineering
Washington University in St. Louis, USA  

Professor Ramesh K. Agarwal is the William Palm Professor of Engineering in the department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science at Washington University in St. Louis. From 1994 to 2001, he was the Sam Bloomfield Distinguished Professor and Executive Director of the National Institute for Aviation Research at Wichita State University in Kansas. From 1978 to 1994, he was the Program Director and McDonnell Douglas Fellow at McDonnell Douglas Research Laboratories in St. Louis. Dr. Agarwal received Ph.D in Aeronautical Sciences from Stanford University in 1975, M.S. in Aeronautical Engineering from the University of Minnesota in 1969 and B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India in 1968. Over a period of forty years, Professor Agarwal has worked in various areas of Computational Science and Engineering - Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD), Computational Materials Science and Manufacturing, Computational Electromagnetics (CEM), Neuro-Computing, Control Theory and Systems, and Multidisciplinary Design and Optimization. He is the author and coauthor of over 500 journal and refereed conference publications. He has given many plenary, keynote and invited lectures at various national and international conferences worldwide in over fifty countries. Professor Agarwal continues to serve on many academic, government, and industrial advisory committees. Dr. Agarwal is a Fellow eighteen societies including the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS), American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), American Physical Society (APS), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), Royal Aeronautical Society, Chinese Society of Aeronautics and Astronautics (CSAA), Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) and American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE). He has received many prestigious honors and national/international awards from various professional societies and organizations for his research contributions.


Prof. Daohua Zhang (Fellow of InstP, IET)

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Professor Dao Hua ZHANG received his MSc degree from Shandong University, China and PhD degree from the University of New South Wales, Australia. He joined Nanyang Technological University in 1991 as a lecturer and is currently a full professor, Deputy Director, Centre for Semiconductor lighting and Display, Director, Photonic Nano-Structure and Applications program and Senator. He also served as Deputy Head of Microelectronics Division, School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Senator of NTU etc. Professor Zhang’s main research interests include semiconductor materials, devices and technology, photonic metamaterials and applications. He has successfully completed over 30 research projects. One of them is the first $10M Competitive Research Program (CRP) of NTU (as Lead Principal Investigator), which was assessed as “outstanding word class research progress” by the international evaluation committee members including a Nobel laureate. He has published over 530 papers in international journals and international conferences, 6 books/ proceedings, and 3 book chapters and he also filed 7 patents. He received Singapore President national day medal and several best paper awards. Professor Zhang is the editor and guest editor of over 10 international journals. He is in International Advisory Committee of several international conferences. He has also chaired and co-chair of over 10 international conferences. He is a fellow of Institute of Physics (FInstP) and Institute of Engineering and Technology (FIET).

Invited Speakers

Prof. Yong Suk Yang

Pusan National University, South Korea

Yong Suk Yang is a Professor Emeritus in the Nanoenergy Engineering Department and former Dean of the College of Nanoscience & Nanotechnology, and former Director of the Research Center for Dielectric and Advanced Matter Physics at Pusan National University. He received his BS in physics in 1977 from Sogang University, Seoul, and PhD in solid state physics in 1990 from McGill University, Montreal. He is a faculty member since 1993. He has been carrying out experiments at neutron- and synchrotron radiation- related international facilities, NSLS, APS, SSRL, Oak Ridge (USA), AECL (Canada), SPring8 (Japan), Riso (Denmark), KAERI (Korea). He has published various articles on the phase transitions of structural order-disorder, spin dynamics on low dimensional magnet, glass-crystallization through nucleation and growth, negative thermal expansion. Multiferroics, dielectric relaxation, solid oxide fuel cell, lithium ion battery are also his recent interests. Not only research but he also emphases the importance of education and training. He has taught under and graduate students over 30 different subjects, quantum mechanics, statistics, solid state physics, thin films, electronic properties of materials, thermoelectric, semiconductor, thermal physics, ceramics, dielectrics, modern physics…, during the last 20 years.

Prof. Xu Chen

University of Washington, USA

Dr. Xu Chen joined UW as an assistant professor of mechanical engineering in 2019. He received his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in mechanical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley, and his Bachelor’s degree with honors from Tsinghua University, China. Before joining UW, he was at the University of Connecticut (UConn) as an assistant professor of mechanical engineering, in affiliation with materials science and advanced systems engineering. Dr. Chen pursues a lifelong passion in dynamic systems and controls, to better understand and engineer smart machines and autonomy that positively impacts our lives. He builds control algorithms that counteract process variations and yield high-quality, agile manufacturing of complex parts at low unit costs compared to conventional machining. He also researches into sensing, actuation, and energy transformation that facilitate novel machines and manufacturing processes: e.g., advisor robots for automated inspection in aerospace industry. His work in laser-aided additive manufacturing advances aerospace components and custom-designed medical implants, with potential to improve more products for the energy, automotive, healthcare and biomedical industries. He brought his technology to precision control and information storage industries, including developing multiple new servo designs for Western Digital Corporation’s industrial mass production.
Dr. Chen is a recipient of the NSF CAREER Award, the Young Investigator Award from ISCIE / ASME International Symposium on Flexible Automation, the inaugural UTC Institute for Advanced Systems Engineering Breakthrough Award in 2016, and the 2017 UConn University Teaching Fellow Award Nominee. Dr. Chen is Publicity and Local Arrangements Chairs of the 2020 and the 2023 IEEE/ASME International Conferences on Advanced Intelligent Mechatronics, and Exhibits Chair of the 2021 IEEE American Control Conference. He served the ASME Dynamic Systems and Control (DSC) Division in roles including Chair of the Vibration Technical Committee, News Editor of the DSC Magazine, Editor of the DSC Newsletter, and Student and Young Members Chair of the 2016 and the 2020 ASME DSC Conferences.